## **Intertribal Community-Owned Solar Program**

Submitted by Intertribal Community-Owned Solar Program Team

## A Climate to Thrive

PO Box 75, Mount Desert, Maine 04660 207-370-5762

www.aclimatetothrive.org johannah@aclimatetothrive.org

**Location of primary benefits: Pleasant Point, Maine 04667** 

Short description: The project establishes an intertribal structure to support community-ownership of solar through a cooperative model and development of initial array(s). The Intertribal Community-Owned Solar Program will provide low-cost, clean, renewable energy to the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Pleasant Point and at Indian Township, the Mi'kmaq Nation, and the Houlton Band of Maliseets: five underserved and over-burdened remote and rural tribal communities in Maine. The project builds a replicable model for other remote and rural communities to expand solar ownership to low- and moderate-income households and renters. Activities include formation of Intertribal Community-Owned Steering Committee and supporting bylaws, establishment of Intertribal Solar Coordinator, community-driven selection of initial site(s) and accompanying financial model(s), contractor and initial design selection, interconnection application submission, scheduling of necessary environmental and engineering studies, and completion of additional grant applications to support development of initial site(s) and ongoing functioning of the program. Prize funding will support Steering Committee participation, Intertribal Solar Coordinator time, support from A Climate to Thrive and Dr. Sharon Klein of the University of Maine's Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions, interconnection applications, and accessibility measures for community-wide sessions.

Video link: https://vimeo.com/829921800

## **Project members:**

Johannah Blackman, A Climate to Thrive Executive Director

Elizabeth Woolfolk, A Climate to Thrive Manager of Renewable Energy Planning and Policy

Dr. Sharon Klein, Associate Professor of Economics, University of Maine Mitchell Center

Corey McVay, A Climate to Thrive Renewable Energy Solutions Coordinator

Naomi Albert, A Climate to Thrive Project Manager

Jasmine Lamb, Founder of Sipayik Resilience Committee

Gary Fearon, Executive Director of House for Penobscot Indian Nation

Janelle Sapiel, Executive Director of the Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Reservation Housing Authority

Valerie Socobasin, Founder of Motahkomikuk Resilience Committee

Chief Clarissa Sabattis of the Houlton Band of Maliseets

Chief Edward Peter Paul of the Mi'kmag Nation